Hands-are-Shelves (iv)

The body hangs
above its organs
Like a crime

Time is a crime
as I pin the epidermis to the wall
ceiling’s round face
candles cutting clouds
I am walking
I am walking like a ghost moon
completing its rounds
Emerald green water
dragging its twenty-four feet
over bridges of faltering life

I am awake as I fall, fall over land, fall into seas,
Pregnant flakes of trimmed semesters
circumventing my ovary, ‘I’ have replicated in myself
My mango face like seasoned pickles
treating an aftermath in reverse

Fallen flesh, turning pale
blue seas above the fire extinguisher
cement factories in breast weight
Air killing planets
Ceilings dropping, lotus and onion
Blood hopelessly clings to itself in free fall
Blood escaping blood, body escaping body

Too many days make a calendar blind
and most anniversaries are of the dead
I carry the chewed edges of uneven days and rub a tongue over them
Count the years, anti-clockwise
in the second eye
Time is an altar
And my body hangs like a crime
Organ burning organ, blood escaping blood

Image and words Β© Aakriti Kuntal

9 thoughts on “The-Body-is-a-red-Exoskeleton

  1. Aakriti, this is by far one of my favorite poems.

    Love the surrealism imagery in your poetic words.
    This is the kind of poetry I love reading and analyzing its creative words.

    What inspired you to write this incredible poem?

    Seriously though, my favorite poem. I’ve read it 5 times and I come to the same conclusion
    of our surrealistic your poem brings home to my heart. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Charlie. I truly admire your work. This one is part of a surreal poetry series combined with clicks of hands. It revolves around the idea that time consumes everything. It’s more from the perspective of a failing body and it undergoing treatment. Also, in general, how we start dying from the moment we are born.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Excellent!

        I knew it felt very surrealism. This kind of poetry like i said, it my cup of tea and love reading because it truly is inspiring and influential.

        Yes, time consumes everything. The idea that humanity has to depend on time but little to humans know…its slowly rotting away at our insanity.

        You are my poet to read more and more. πŸ™‚

        P.S I posted something new yesterday. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

